MSH Master Planning Committee

The Medfield State Hospital Master Planning Committee (MPC) was created by the Board of Selectmen after the town meeting and special election that authorized the town to purchase the state hospital property and began meeting in the summer of 2014.  The goals and objectives of the Master Planning Committee include working with all parties to oversee the creation of a Master Plan for the MSH site.

The committee consists of:


Stephen M. Nolan, Chair
Stephen J. Browne
Patrick Casey
Ralph Costello
Brandie Erb
Teresa James
Randal Karg
Gil Rodgers

In addition to the regular committee members, the following people are serving as resources to the MPC in various capacities.

Lucille Fisher
John Harney
Bill Massaro
Jean Mineo
Frank Perry
Ros Smythe
Alec Stevens
John Thompson

Committee meetings are also regularly attended by town employees, including Sarah Raposa, Town Planner, and various members of town government.

The committee was given the following mission:
Mission Statement:  The overall goal of the Committee is to present to the Board of Selectmen a comprehensive and coordinated vision for the sustainable redevelopment and reuse of the former Medfield State Hospital.  The committee’s goals and objectives are summarized in this document.